Teacher’s Take: Mr. Del Rio

Below is an interview with Mr. Del Rio a CSS teacher and soccer coach here at SHP. We asked him a few questions to get to know him a little better!

 

  1. How did you get into teaching?

Truth be told, I got into teaching because I love sports. In other words, I knew that I always enjoyed building relationships and helping others. After college, I did real estate with my dad and brother. However, my love for soccer and sports in general got me into coaching. I really enjoyed coaching because I was able to work with people, improve them, help them, and learn from them. Coaching isn’t super stable, so I got into teaching where I could do both.

 

  1. How long have you been teaching at SHP?

I have been at SHP for 8 years now, but coaching there for 9 years. I am a dinosaur now because I also graduated from SHP in 2001. I never thought I would ever get into education, so it is a bit odd I am back.

 

  1. What is your favorite part about being a teacher?

It really is getting to know students throughout their HS tenure, and being able to help them and advocate for them. I enjoy the non-academic dynamic of personal relationships, such as sports talk and talking about food. Basically, I think the important piece of education is learning how to work with people and learning how to build others up.

 

  1. What is your least favorite part about being a teacher?

My least favorite parts are not being able to be around the students as much, and all of the times I am unable to help them (such as in math or science). Nowadays, students are much more intelligent in academia than I am! So, I guess my least favorite part is the actual academia.

 

  1. What are some of your hobbies?

I always tell students that there isn’t a whole lot to me, and I am sure it is quite noticeable. My hobbies include all things soccer, and following the Warriors, Sharks, Niners, Vikings and the Giants. I also love working out, and eating good places. Admittedly, I like soul cycle, and undoubtedly, my favorite thing is coaching my own kids (my wife calls me a tiger dad).

 

  1. Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Redwood City, exactly 2 miles north-west from the back gate of SHP.

 

  1. Where did you go to college?

I went to USF and NDNU. I am back in school, about to complete my masters in Educational Psychology.

 

  1. Do you have any kids?

I have a 7 year old son, Cruz and a 6 year old daughter, Gracie.

 

  1. What’s your favorite type of music?

Definitely country. Luke Bryan, Jason Aldean, Jon Pardi. I also enjoy hip-hop.

 

  1. Favorite movie?

This is a tough one. One of my favorites is Silver Lining’s Playbook. Dumb and Dumber, Rocky 3 and Rocky 4, and Coco (b/c of my kids).

 

 

 

 

Written/Interviewed by Lindsay Lynch (’19) and Matthew Kim (’21)

Comments are closed.